Anonymised sample

A written assessment, not a sales quote.

This is a complete WattPK assessment of a realistic Pakistani residential quotation, with identifying details removed. It is the kind of page you receive after the PKR 2,000 fee, and it is not a live review of your documents.

Sample assessment

WattPK written assessment

Anonymised 10 kW hybrid quotation, Lahore, August 2026

Needs clarification
Summary

The equipment classes are sensible and fairly priced. The quote is short on safety scope, the battery is too small for the backup the homeowner asked for, and PKR 115,000 to 215,000 sits in the four lines nobody price-checks online. Do not pay the advance until the revised quotation below is in hand.

Quoted system
10 kW hybrid for a Lahore house: 18 x 580 W panels (10.44 kW DC), one 10 kW three-phase hybrid inverter, one 5.12 kWh lithium battery. Quoted August 2026.
Panels
N-type 580 W class. Brand named, model code missing, so the datasheet and product warranty cannot be checked. Price is in range at about PKR 45 per watt.
Inverter
10 kW hybrid, dual-MPPT class. Model, warranty years, and battery compatibility are not stated. It must be a low-voltage-battery model to work with the 51.2 V battery quoted.
Battery
5.12 kWh nominal, roughly 4.6 kWh usable. That runs one inverter AC plus fans and lights for about two hours. It does not run two ACs overnight, which is what the homeowner asked for.
Missing from the quote
DC isolator and surge protection, earthing, cable sizes, structure gauge, written warranty terms, and a priced net-billing application.
Price reading
PKR 1,485,000 quoted. The three equipment lines are fairly priced. Structure, wiring, labour, and miscellaneous carry PKR 115,000 to 215,000 more than WattPK's working range.
Section 1

The quotation as received

What the installer sent and what the homeowner asked for

Context

Quotation dated August 2026 for a three-storey house in Lahore (LESCO area). Summer bills of about 950 units a month, winter bills of about 400. The homeowner asked for backup that runs two inverter ACs at night. The installer quoted PKR 1,485,000, valid for seven days, with a 70 percent advance.

Section 2

Equipment

Each named component, what the class means, and what still needs confirming

Panels
18 x 580 W, 10.44 kW DC in total. This is the N-type TOPCon class that most Pakistani quotes now carry; glass-glass bifacial modules are common at this wattage. The quote names the brand but not the model code. Without the code WattPK cannot open the datasheet, confirm the product warranty (this class is usually sold with 12 to 15 years product cover and a longer output warranty), or check whether the stock comes through the brand's Pakistani distributor. Ask for the model code and the distributor's warranty letter.
Inverter
10 kW three-phase hybrid, dual-MPPT class. Three things need confirming in writing: that its maximum PV input accepts 10.44 kW DC (most 10 kW hybrids accept more, but the model decides); that it is a low-voltage-battery model, because the battery quoted is 51.2 V; and that the quoted battery brand is on the inverter's compatibility list so the two can communicate. Not stated: model, warranty years, where it is mounted, and whether it can limit export, which matters under net billing.
Battery
One 5.12 kWh LiFePO4 module (51.2 V, 100 Ah). At a 90 percent depth of discharge that is roughly 4.6 kWh usable. A 1.5-ton inverter AC draws roughly 1.2 to 1.8 kW once running; with fans, lights, and a refrigerator the load is around 2 kW, so the realistic backup is one AC for about two hours. Two ACs overnight would need three to four modules of this size. Either accept the smaller backup or price a second module, and ask for the cycle count and warranty years in writing.
Section 3

What is missing from the quote

Items a complete, safe, and billable installation needs

7 items
Why it matters

Each of these is a question for the seller, and several of them are money. A quotation that leaves them out is not cheaper; it is incomplete.

DC protections
No DC isolator, DC fuses or breakers, or surge protection device appears anywhere. Two strings of nine panels run at roughly 450 to 500 V DC and must be isolatable. NEPRA's standard interconnection agreement also lets the distribution company require a lockable, earthed disconnect switch.
Earthing
No earthing for the panel frames, structure, or inverter, and no lightning protection. A house this size in Lahore should have both listed as separate lines.
Cable sizes
“Wiring and accessories” is one line with no DC cable cross-section, AC cable size, or run length. Ask for 4 or 6 mm² solar-grade DC cable and the AC size to the distribution board.
Structure specification
“L2 GI structure” does not say the steel gauge, whether it is hot-dip galvanised, how it is fixed to the roof, or the elevation height. Fourteen-gauge is the common standard; anything thinner should cost less.
Net-billing application
The quote says “net metering on request” with no price. Net metering closed to new applicants on 9 February 2026. Budget separately for the NEPRA concurrence fee of PKR 1,000 per kW, the distribution company's connection-charge estimate for the bidirectional meter, and the installer's filing work.
Warranty terms
No written line for panel product and output warranty, inverter years, battery years and cycles, or a workmanship warranty from the installer. Ask who handles a fault in year three: the installer, the distributor, or nobody.
Commissioning and handover
No single-line diagram, test report, or monitoring setup. The diagram is needed for the net-billing application in any case.
Section 4

Price reading, line by line

Quoted figure, WattPK working range, and where the difference sits

PKR 1,485,000
Where the money hides

Holding the three equipment lines at their quoted prices, a complete quotation for this scope should land around PKR 1,270,000 to 1,370,000 before the net-billing application. The quote is PKR 115,000 to 215,000 above that. None of the gap is in the panels, inverter, or battery, which are the prices people check online. All of it is in structure, wiring, labour, and miscellaneous, which is where it usually is.

Panels, 18 x 580 W
Quoted PKR 468,000. WattPK range PKR 430,000 to 485,000. In range at about PKR 45 per watt.
Hybrid inverter, 10 kW
Quoted PKR 335,000. WattPK range PKR 280,000 to 350,000. In range for this class; a premium brand would cost more.
Battery, 5.12 kWh LiFePO4
Quoted PKR 265,000. WattPK range PKR 230,000 to 290,000. In range.
Mounting structure, 18 panels
Quoted PKR 165,000. WattPK range PKR 80,000 to 120,000 for a 14-gauge standard roof mount. PKR 45,000 to 85,000 high, and the specification is not written.
Wiring and accessories
Quoted PKR 112,000. WattPK range PKR 60,000 to 90,000 including DC protections and earthing. PKR 22,000 to 52,000 high, and it still omits both.
Installation and commissioning
Quoted PKR 85,000. WattPK range PKR 50,000 to 70,000. PKR 15,000 to 35,000 high.
Transport, survey, miscellaneous
Quoted PKR 55,000. WattPK range PKR 10,000 to 20,000. PKR 35,000 to 45,000 high; the survey is normally free with a purchase.
Net-billing application
Not priced. Budget PKR 60,000 to 110,000 all in. Must be added before this quote can be compared with any other.

WattPK working ranges reflect published Pakistani dealer price lists and quotations seen in August to September 2026 for Lahore. They are a reading, not a guarantee, and they move with the exchange rate.

Section 5

Sizing under net billing

How the NEPRA (Prosumer) Regulations 2026 change what this roof should carry

Net billing
Under the NEPRA (Prosumer) Regulations 2026, new connections are billed on a net-billing basis: units you import are charged at your normal tariff, and units you export are credited at the national average energy purchase price. In February 2026 that export rate was reported at around PKR 10 to 11 per unit, against import tariffs of roughly PKR 37 to 55 per unit before taxes and surcharges. Any surplus credit rolls into the next bill or is paid quarterly. The old one-for-one exchange of units no longer applies to new applicants.
This house
WattPK estimates a 10.44 kW array in Lahore produces around 1,200 to 1,400 units a month in summer and 650 to 850 in winter, depending on shading and orientation. Against 950 summer units and 400 winter units, this house would export a large share of its generation, and it would still import in the evening when the ACs run. Every exported unit is worth about a quarter of an imported one, so oversizing no longer pays for itself.
Two designs
Two designs are worth pricing. Keep 10.44 kW if people are home and running ACs during the day. Otherwise, a 14-panel array of about 8 kW with the saving moved into a second battery module serves the evening load better and exports less. The right answer depends on the daytime load, which the quote never asked about.
Before signing
Three regulatory checks before signing. First, the system capacity may not exceed the sanctioned load of the premises (regulation 3(2)), and the regulations define an applicant as a three-phase 400 V consumer; the quote does not record either, so confirm both from the LESCO bill. Second, the distribution company may refuse an application where the local transformer has reached 80 percent of its rated capacity (regulation 3(5)); ask the installer to check before you pay. Third, the agreement term is five years, renewable by mutual consent (regulation 7(1)); do not let the seller describe it as a longer guarantee.
Section 6

Verdict and next steps

What to do with this quotation

Needs clarification
Verdict

The installer has chosen reasonable equipment and priced it fairly. The quotation is not ready to sign because it omits the protections, earthing, structure specification, and net-billing work that make the system safe and billable, it undersizes the backup the homeowner asked for, and it carries PKR 115,000 to 215,000 of avoidable cost in the non-equipment lines. With the changes below, this same installer could deliver a good system.

Step 1
Do not pay the 70 percent advance until the missing items are written into a revised quotation.
Step 2
Ask for the model codes of the panel, inverter, and battery, plus each distributor's Pakistani warranty letter.
Step 3
Confirm the sanctioned load and three-phase connection from the LESCO bill, and ask the installer to check transformer capacity with LESCO before signing.
Step 4
Request an itemised quote with structure gauge, cable sizes, DC and AC protections, earthing, warranty lines, and a priced net-billing application. A fair figure for this scope is PKR 1,270,000 to 1,370,000 before the application; ask for the reason if the seller cannot get close.
Step 5
Decide the backup you actually want: one AC for about two hours as quoted, or a second battery module.
Step 6
Decide the array size after answering the daytime-use question, and ask for both designs to be priced.
Step 7
Negotiate the advance down to 30 to 40 percent, with the balance due after commissioning and meter installation.
Sources

Sources and dates

Every price, warranty, and regulatory statement in a WattPK report is dated, because the Pakistani market moves quickly

NEPRA (Prosumer) Regulations 2026, S.R.O. 251(I)/2026, notified 9 February 2026
Regulations 3(2), 3(5), 7(1), 14, and the concurrence fee schedule.
Dawn, 11 February 2026
Reported export credit of around PKR 10 to 11 per unit and import tariffs of PKR 37 to 55 per unit excluding taxes, surcharges, and duties.

If a rule or rate changes after your report is published, the report still records what was true on the date it was written.

After the report

What happens next

The fee, the guarantee, and the optional step

PKR 2,000
Money-back guarantee

Money-back guarantee: if the assessment does not identify more than PKR 2,000 of issues or savings, the fee is refunded. The refund is recorded on your private request page.

Optional sourcing
If the assessment says the quote is incomplete or the price is off, you can ask WattPK to source or manage a reviewed installer for you. That step is optional and carries a separate flat fee that you pay to WattPK, quoted in writing before you proceed.
From installers
Nothing. WattPK does not accept payments, commissions, or referral fees from installers.

Start with the quotation you already have.

Upload it. If you only have a bill, use that path instead.